Mr. Floor Manager and I have had a on-off kinda relationship. Apparently, he has always liked me. Almost a year before he had the courage to ask my number. We would see each other in the office, or on the way to the cafeteria and we would smile and wave to each other. He'd turn once. And he'll always turn a second, and third time. Hehe...He's cute and about six years younger than me. I guess he thought I was younger.
All those smiles, and kirim salams were what I called the 'golden period'. It was sweet and fun while it lasted. Really, remember those days when a guy sends you his regards and you giggle sheepishly, smiling yourself silly. Yeah, that was how I felt initially.
Then came the company dinner where I actually held a long conversation with him. Long meant more than 3 seconds. Apparently he came because of me. Wow. Impressive. Yeah we danced and talked. And he asked my number that night. He text me later wishing me goodnight. Sigh...
Then the next night he called me. At first all was fine. Then he started talking about all the other girls he went out with. About the girl who gave him a birthday 'surprise' just a couple of days before...oh God. Really, even if he did, must i know about his bedroom stories? I wasn't in the least interested nor fascinated.
That cut off whatever feelings I had for him. It was a pity and good while it lasted. I really can't stand this trait in any guy. I think I speak for a majority of girls when I say we like to be the center of attention
As you guys already know, I had my first, much anticipated date with Mr. Young-And-Cute-Divorcee last night. How was it? Sigh...Honestly, I really don't know what to make out of it. He was cute, yes. But he didn't really give my heart flip-flops when I met him. But he was nice, courteous. And he was hanging on to my every word. A definite plus point! I love it when guys just listen to me talk because I love to talk and frankly it's a shame if they don't listen because I have many curious afflictions I'd like to share. Ha-ha...Gosh, talk about being self-centered! Well, at some point in our lives we have to admit that we are just that and hopefully it would not make us any less human in the eyes of the receiver or to those listening.
Umm...It started out with him being a little later than I was. I hate that. I would really appreciate if a guy arrives at a date with me early (okay, now the self-centered-ness is more apparent, I should really shut my mouth now, or more precisely, choose my words carefully). He apologized off course and because he was cute, I forgave him. (What??? Okay, okay, throw that candle holder at me later ya?!) What shall we watch, he asked, smiling at me and holding the back of my waits as he lead me to the escalator. Terminator3 was what I actually wanted to watch but when we got to the ticket counter, the only seat left were too close to the screen. Off course the inner miss-dumb-dumb in me appeared heroically to so-call save the moment. I said why don't we watch the malay ghost movie. That seven-seven-oh-seven movie. He looked at me curiously, as if trying to sum up what kind of person I was and then laughed. You watch local malay movies? He asked, his eyes twinkling. Okay miss-dumb-dumb knows how to save her ass. I recovered from the moment of dumbness as quickly as it came. I said, well, we got to support out local movie industry right? (okay, for your benefit, I am cringing now as I write the words down ha-ha). He said, we can support the local movie industry next time okay...not on our first date. Okay, I said smiling and nodding myself silly. So we ended up watching Harry Potter. Now, I was not really a fan of Harry, nor did I follow any of the other movies, but I said okay anyway. It was a three hour movie after all, if you catch the drift.
We then had dinner in a fast food restaurant. Yeah, I'm eating my words. Not exactly an ideal location for first dates mind you. Well, not for a thirty two year old mommy of two. I remember not too long ago when Mr.Young-Floor-Manager took me out there for dinner. (mr-Young-Floor-Manager is another story which I have yet to tell). I felt like a school kid. It was raining and kind of romantic but I just didn't feel it. See, this is where Mr. No-Commitment surpasses them all. Okay, let's not even go there.
But he was sweet and attentive. He is a soft-spoken guy and I found it appealing. We chatted. Well, more like I chatted. He speaks English well. Which is another plus point for him. Until he started talking about his ex-girlfriend who he apparently still has emotions for but that emotion is not returned (by her) since she sleeps with her ex-boyfriend whenever she fights with him. Hmm...I knew there was a catch somewhere. But he insist he's not in love with her. Okay, go figure.
Time came for the movie and we went in. The movie was quite amusing actually and I regret not following it from the start of the first one many years ago. And since he knew I did not follow it, he kept whispering things I didn't know about the movie in my ear at frequent intervals. Off course after an hour, my hands felt cold and he helped me warm my hands. Hehehe....Yeah, that was nice. And he held my hands throughout the movie. Off course he fell asleep in between. Poor guy. I felt bad for him. He has been helping take care of his dad the whole week, alternating the hospital and work and home to his son. So I let him doze off.
Overall, it was a nice date. I wouldn't say it was fantastic but nothing to shout about either. He said he wants to see me again. But, the question is, do i?
Psst!..
I had a date. Yeah, I went out with a Mr. Mat-Salleh. He's nice. And short. I didn't want to say 'but short' because it'll make me sound like I was complaining, but he is short. I don't know, most of the guys I go out on dates with are short. Mr. No-Commitment, Mr. Young And Cute Divorcee, Mr. Budding-Musician. Hmmm.....some say it is good luck to have a shorter partner. I don't know. I can't wear heels and I don't feel at all sexy. Well, you are what you believe, so, I have to be positive.
It was an impromptu date. We had been e-mailing and texting each other for sometime now and I had thought of asking him out but I followed my instincts and decided not to. Let him do the asking.
It was a Friday night when he popped the question. Asking me if I wanted to catch a movie with him. After much thought, I said yes. I was tired and I really wasn't in the mood to be in a date. But I was curious about Mr. Mat Salleh. What the heck, I thought, Just Do It! Ha-ha, excuse the pun.
So I found myself dressing up (well, dressing down rather) as it had rained that evening and the weather was pretty cold. Instead of wearing cute, sexy, bust-flattering outfits (nothing works on me, so don't worry peeps), I opted for turtle neck and jeans. Not that hot. But the guy has to like me for me, not what I wear. So, after sending my kids off at my parent's place, I headed off to see him in Pavilion.
Mr. Mat-Salleh is rich. He does not want to watch a movie in anything less than premiere class. It was a RM60 seat each mind you. I had never been in premiere class before. Actually, I had never even thought of premiere class before. It was like watching a movie in an aircraft. The first experience was, I tell you, fantastic. The seats were gigantic. It was soft and we were even given a duvet. It felt like a hotel I tell you. Unfortunately, because of the size, there were practically no space for holding hands or snuggling up. If you wanted to hold hands, you had to put your hands out across to the next seat and it looked silly. I'll be sure not to watch anything in premiere class if I'm watching it with Mr. No-Commitment.
We watched 'The Proposal'. It was hilarious. But I tell you, no one found it funnier than Mr. Mat-Salleh himself. He was cracking up with laughter at every joke, and getting up with jerking motions, laughing himself silly. I tell you, lucky there was only one other couple there and no one else to witness the scene. I kept giving him polite smiles, sending him messages through my non-existent ESP, hoping he'll stop. But he didn't. I think he rather enjoyed himself.
He walked me to my car after the movie and kissed me on both cheeks. But nothing there. No sparks. Nothing. Hmm. I'm beginning to feel like I'm numb, devoid of emotions. How can I not feel anything? He's not that bad looking. Sigh...I don't know. When there is no spark, well, then there just isn't any, I guess.
Some say he's the ideal guy (for me). Mat Salleh. Rich. Muslim. Divorced with a daughter the same age as mine. Well, we'll see how it goes from here. I don't know, I'm not feeling the vibes here, you know what I'm saying?
Recently my colleague had her friend over for lunch at the hotel. I joined their little company and actually enjoyed the almost one hour session. Off course I noticed there was this good looking guy at the table and that he kept diverting his questions about the hotel to me. But I didn't think anything special of that encounter. Later that evening, my colleague came up to me and said the guy thinks I'm cute. And, he thought I was 24 or 25 years old! Hahaha....funny. Its a compliment really but I'm happy to be thirty two. So I asked my friend if she set the record straight. She said yes and he was definitely surprised. So anyway, the next day he calls the office and we spoke a bit. Then he asked for my mobile number, to text me, yeah you guessed it, silly messages. This is like the umpteenth time a guy actually said this to me when they want my contact number. So anyway, he started texting me and he's kinda okay you know. He's 33 years old. He married early and divorvced two years later. He has a fourteen year old son who lives with his mom. Two days ago he asked me out for a movie. Well, what's a gal got to do right? So I said okay. Yeah, I can't wait to get to know Mr.Young-And-Cute Divorcee and see what he is like. Chances are he will be weird too. Just like the rest. I seem to attract people with problems. Don't know why. But having said that, I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. So keep your fingers crossed for me guys. This better be good.Oh, the dinner and movie will be this saturday at klcc. Haha...
I had a call from Mr.Want-To-Get-Married. He wants to see me. He says he thinks we should get to know each other better. I wonder why! I was always sceptical and weary of this particular guy. So I asked him. He said, well, If I have the intention of marrying you, then I might as well get to know you better. Get to know your kids better. Maybe I can come over to your house during weekends. HA!! I knew there was a catch! He wants to come to my house. I wonder why. It doesnt take a genius to figure that out. So I said, leave my children out of this. They will not be subjected to any of this until I am sure that the guy I want is really good enough. He says I should lighten up. Most girls will be flattered to have him at their house. Oh my god, is this guy serious???I am sure they would be flattered so why don't he start by asking them?, I say. Thank you very much for your offer but I don't think so creep!.
I had an sms from Mr.No-Commitment earlier this week. It was a forwarded sms that went something like this, 'ALERT!, There is a special strain of virus deadlier than H1N1.It afflicts most married men causing restricted mobility, speech impairment, extreme stress, high BP and fast temper. There is no cure and the victim is affected forever.Its called B1N1 (Bini or wife flu)'. Funny right?. Yeah so i told him so and additionally added that he actually thought about me during the week, hence the message. He replied saying why would he forget?. I don't know, I said. Then he asked me how I was. I said good, as always. He said he will be leaving for India next week and asked me what I wanted. needless to say, I was dumstruck. I mean, I don't need to repeat myself over and over but he doesn't want commitment yet he wants to buy me things. From India. Well a gal's got to do what a gal's gotta do! We have to stand up for ourselves. Our self-righteouness. Our Pride. I mean, what does he take me for? If he thinks I'm the kind of girl that excepts gifts from men, then he's darn RIGHT!. hahaha....got you guys there! Anyway, jokes aside, I said okay but my mind was reeling from all sorts of possibilities. Should I ask him to get me costume jewellery? They have beautiful peices there. Or sweets? or a saree? I called my friend Seema, my dating consultant. She said no sweets. You can get those here. But a saree would be nice. A saree. Yes. So I text Mr.No-Commitment and told him I'd like a saree. He said sure, let me know what colour and type you want. Colour was easy. I told him bright turqoise with a tinge of silver or deep reddish-brown. Type?? My inner-miss-dumb-dumb took over and asked him, what do you mean by type? Well, he said. Do you want cotton or silk? Which is more comfortable for you? Well, since silk is more expensive, I said silk. Then as I was smiling to myself on this latest development, something else dawned to me. I quickly picked up my mobile phone and text him. Won't your mom be surprised that you are buying a saree? I typed. half a minute later he replied. I'm fourty, plus my mother couldn't be bothered with my personal life anymore. Yeah, I think I mentioned to everyone before that his mom has lost all hopes of him being maried and all. So there. I'm getting a saree from Mr.No-Commitment who will be going to India next week. As I sit here typing this, I still don't know what to think. Well, whatever it is, I'm going to enjoy every minute of it! This is turning out to be kinda fun!
This was a busy week. We had advertised for various posts needed for the hotel in the newspaper. People were coming in and out of the Executive Office. Wednesday started of as all the other days. Briefing, then paperwork, letters to type out, then the interviews. It was quite boring as my colleague, the sales manager was on mc. So I was doing my work earnestly, when a good-looking guy and his friend walks in the office. Is Anita around?, he asks, smiling at me. I said, no, she's on mc. Then I asked him if he came for an interview. Without blinking, he said yes, his eyes twinkling. Off course, with a zillion things on my mind, I didnt see the twinkle. Oh, okay. What post are you looking for? I asked.What kind of jobs are available, he asked me casually. I blurted out the positions as I knew it the back of my mind. Oh, front office sounds good. Front office? I said. Hold on a minute. Then I called the HR coordinator to confirm if I should give him the clerical or executive application form. She said what kind of post in front office does he want. Some are clerical and some executive. So i hung up the phone and asked him. I handed him an application form. Suddenly his mouth started twitching , as if he couldn't contain his laughter. He said. "No, no. I'm actually Anita's friend. Do you have her number?.
Seriously I felt so silly at that moment. Susah-susah i called HR to find out what form I should give him. I wasted my breath telling him what posts are available. Anyway, he asked my for my mobile number. Apparently he is a producer and he wants to shoot some video here. Anita said he found me hilarious and might ask me out. Hmm. I will not go out with him. He probably got a kick pulling a fast one on me! Creep!
It was Monday morning and we had our usual briefing. I'm a full fledged secretary now, not afraid of sending out minutes of meeting to the Dubai bosses anymore hehe.(Yeah, there were a few hick-ups a little while ago)...FYI, filling up forms constitute a small part in a secretary's job. So last week I had to fill out the halal certification form for the two F&B outlets..(oh, for shisha lovers, we have a really cozy place for you guys to hang out). My boss had asked the Sales Manager to deal with this matter so all I had to do was get instructions and information from her. I went into her office and asked her briefly about certain things I wasn't sure about. At the end of the first page of the form, in bold, capital letters, it said, 'Remarks'. I was not sure what it meant. So I asked her. She was onto something the senior GM from Dubai asked her to do. So, off-handedly, waving her hands and looking at her PC, she said, 'Just ask them to process quickly,' It was meant as a joke. But since i was so serious in filling up the form properly without having my boss yell 'Faaaraaaaahhh!!' from his office, I wrote it down and subsequently typed it into the form.
So at the Morning meeting, I was earnestly taking down the important notes if the meeting when the halal certification came up. The Sales Manager said everything is in order. Farah has compiled all the relevant information, the menu, and has filled up the form accordingly. Good, good, said my GM, nodding his head as he went through the application form. Then suddenly he stopped at the bottom. Yeah, right where the word 'Remarks' were. His eyes went from the sales manager to me. 'What the hell is this?!' Luckily, my GM is a soft-spoken man, and he does not really like yelling. In the three months that I have worked alone with him, he has never reprimanded me. I lost the master key to the hotel (this key can open all the hotel rooms in the hotel) and he was very calm about it. He said to stop looking for it and it'll turn up. I know he had to breath in and breath out slowly just to say those words to me. Lucky it turned up.
Sorry, I digress. Anyway,I happen to think that my GM has a soft spot for me. He was angry on my behalf yesterday, when....okay, sorry, i will write that in another post. Let's finish this first. Needless to say my already gigantic eyes turned as big as a flying saucer, and i gulped slowly. What? what is it?, asked the sales manager, also looking at me. She is my friend and she knows what I'm capable of pulling. She gave me a meaningful look.
'Kindly speed up the halal certification proces' read my boss. I looked up at the ceiling. I knew the words well. I wrote it, after all. I managed a silly smile at my boss. My sales manager couldn't control her laughter and started laughing. 'You didn't have to write that Farah! I was joking!!'. Luckily, my boss found it funny and started laughing too. Soon, the whole room was in laughter. So in defense of my silly self, I said, 'I'm glad to be of help and make eveyrone laugh!'. Seriously Farah.
I was driving to work early on Thursday morning when I heard Micheal Jackson passed away. I had goosebumps all over my body! I just couldn't believe my ears. For a while i hoped that it was a hoax and the radio deejays would laugh out loud and call it quits. But that didn't happen. I resigned to the fact the he had passed on after Mix FM started playing his songs back to back. They had strange grave tones while they talked, unlike their usual bubbly not to mention hyper selves.
How could I not feel sad? He is the King of Pop. An enigmatic icon. Someone whose life we followed right back to the days when we were young. He has been in the music scene for the last four decades. That means the last fourty years of his life. That is really an achievement, especially in the Hollywood music industry where people just tend to fall out of fame after a while. But no Micheal. True, he has had many bad publicity over the years, but he will always be Micheal Jackson to many of us.
I was upset that many people disrespect him and disregard him even in his death. They still referred as wacko-jacko or jacko. That was upsetting to see. Its not easy being in the limelight. Not everyone will like you. And there is nothing you can do. In Micheal's case, for many years, there were reports and allegations of child molestation. I personally feel that those people were out to get money out of him. He is such a sweet soul and I don't think he is capable of hurting a flea. Yes, he might be soft spoken and appear as a person who loves personal and physical contact, but that is just him being himself. He loves kids to the point of madness. I think it was because he felt robbed of his childhood being a child star and all. This can be seen in the home he built for himself 'Neverland', and probably depicted himself as Peter Pan, the child who won't grow up. For almost two decades, children from all walks of life enjoyed the rides and parks in Neverland. He really made a difference in respect to his charity work towards children. But he felt strongly about his father's way of discipline. This, obviously, has scarred him for life, and till his death we see how much he hated himself as deep down he felt his father hated him so because he was ugly.
People think Micheal Jackson purposely turned himself into into becoming so white but contrary to people's beliefs, it was unintentional. He was not afraid to be black. In the late 80's, while filming a Pepsi commercial, Micheal's hair caught on fire and he suffered major burns. He had to undergo skin grafting and this left many scars phisically. It was this particular incident that started him on skin repairs and consequently, whitening. Let's not blame him for what was something innocent that turned out to be something that became more of an addiction. People get addicted all the time. Smoking is an addiction. Drinking is an addiction. Skin whitening is an addiction. So what?Why blame him for this? We judge others when we ourselves are not perfect. By doing so, we hurt people in the process. Some are strong and can withstand any insults. Others curl up in a nutshell, becoming a social misfit.
Actually Micheal Jackson was just as normal as you and me. But being a celebrity has its ups and downs. To be popular, you gotta be different. He purposely potrayed himself as a weirdo. He found it hilarious that people want to capture the 'wacko-jacko' part of him. This is proof of when he started wearing the mask. The first time he did it, he was on the way to a press conference, and when he got there, he put on this mask, and those in the car asked him why is he putting on a mask, he smiled and said,'let's give them something to talk about'. See? He also had a fascination for people who are different. Like circus founder P.T Barnum, and the elephant man (he was so fascinated, he actually bought the dead guys bones). i think he felt a strong connection with these people. He knew what is was like to be different, to be laughed at. he was a victim, just like them.
Anyway, I'm glad he had three children whom he'd cut his arms for. It is unfortunate that he died so young. But if you noticed most people of extreme popularity often die young tragically. It is unfortunate that he has overdosed himself. If I'm not wrong, he had skin cancer. So you can imagine the pain he was in. The skin is, after all, the largest organ in our body. The pain was inconceivable.
I'm upset that he died out on us. No more Micheal. But if it means he will no longer feel the pain, either physically or mentally, which was both torturing him to madness, then I guess he is in a better place now. May God bless him and his soul and may he rest in peace. Goodbye Micheal Jackson. This is it.
As most of you already know, I have been, well, not seeing per se, but 'interacting' with a club deejay for quite some time. He's 32, cute, but he can be a pain in the ass at times. He wants to have a no-commitment relationship and wants to see me on and off for-yeah, you guessed it. WHY??? Why do people instantaneously think I'm up for an immoral way of life when they see me? Actually, I don't really mind if I'm into the guy...heheh...okay, jokes aside (by the way, that's my boss' favorite word. he makes a joke, everyone laughs and he cuts us off with those two words). Okay, so jokes aside, Mr.Dee-Jay has been quite persistent. Asking me out. Texting me daily. Face-booking me. Blah blah blah. I have been quite bad to him, I must say. As time goes by, I sense that he likes me more than he cares to admit. And i start to get scared. I don't know. I get scared when people starts to like me.
So one day, Mr. Dee-jay texts me and says 'Babe, I wrote a song for you'....aww.....so sweet, was my instant reply. I quickly text my girlfriend Seema and told her all about it. Seema thought it was very sweet. Well, to keep it short, here is the song. Sing it to the 'Oh Carol' tune okay.
Oh, Farah...
I'm but a fool
Baby I like you...
Though you treat me cruel...
You hurt me..
And you make me cry...
And if you leave me...
I'll find another gal..
Baby i want to take you out for coffee
Or if you want milooo...
Since you don't really take tea
I'll sacrifice also...
Baby jom let's go out for a movie
Whenever you are free
Or we can watch tv..
Or maybe dvd...
Oh Farah
I may be a fool...
Baby I dig you...
Because you are so cool...
Baby I think you are goddamn pretty...
And I'm not the only one...
My best friend thinks you are such a hotty
I'll be proud if you are mine.
-Raj.
This song came in two batches. Sweet. What do you guys think? Haha!! Guys really are something aren't they?? :) Anyway, I told you I'm bad right? So I told him I didn't really like the song.
Psst!! I had a date with Mr.No-Commitment last friday. It was supposed to have been saturday night, but he text somewhere in the middle of the week to say he's got some family thing on saturday night (my close friend Lisa said, 'yeah right,' to that) but atleast he gave an alternative date which fell on friday. I'd rather have that than having him cancel the date anyway. So, I was really excited on thursday, picking out like ten different things to wear to work. It had to look good as I was meeting him straight after work. Should I wear black, brown, white or multi-coloured? I settled for turquoise and brown. I woke up early on friday morning and took my time dressing up. I always have this feeling of excitement when I meet Mr.No-Commitment. Suffice to say, I couldnt wait for the day to end, so that I could rush to MidValley for dinner and perhaps, movie. We had planned to watch Transformers a couple of months back but unfortunately, it was going to premiere only next wednesday and there wasn't much choice for an interesting movie.
So work was painfully long and never-ending. My boss kept asking me to do this and that. He had a tendency to ask for things when I am about to leave so I was keeping my fingers crossed that he won't resort to it that Friday. Anyway, 6pm finally came. Yeah, as usual, my boss asked for something at the thirteenth hour. I glared at him and pursed my lips. He knew I had a date with Mr. No-Commitment that night. He smiled sheepishly. 'Sorry ah', and he even had the nerve to wink at me!
So anyway, I got it done and off I went to Midvalley. As usual, as I got nearer, my heart will start pounding nervously. Oh God, what do I do today? Should I make him hold my hands in the cinema if we end up wtching a movie? Should I kiss him? How do I do it? Where? I felt like a criminal, plotting something in my mind.
Just as I got there, he calls and says he'll be a bit late as he is just leaving the office and he told me to go 'window shopping'. So window shopping I went, trying out clothes, shoes, handbags and perfumes. Half an hour later he calls and asks, 'Hey babe, where are you?' Oooo...'babe' I felt excited by that change in how he calls me. My cheeks started to burn and I got butterflies in my stomach. Sigh....
He hugged and kissed me tenderly on both cheeks (heheheheh) when he saw me. I liked the way he touched the small of my back when he pulled me near. So we started talking and talking. See, that's the thing with Mr. No-Commitment. We can talk for hours and I don't have to be afraid that I'll be out of topic. There is never a moment of silence. And this has nothing to do with the fact that I talk a lot too okay. He picked the restaurant this time. He said if he left it to me, we'll end up in Chili's. So we ended up in Little Penang Cafe. We had kuay teow, kerabu and otak-otak. As usual, when I talk, he listens, nods, smiles and make the right sounds at every few minutes. I love this.
We sat there talking till everyone left and the restaurant about to close. Then we adjourned to, yeah you guessed it, Chili's for margharitas. He had Presidente and I had El Nino, which was heaven!! So off course after a few drinks, we laughed easier. Our hands brushed together at different intervals, courtesy of my criminal mind plotting on the way there. At one point he was quite sweet. I was telling him about how I have to go for grooming classes. I have to wear suits to work and I'll either have to wear my hair up in a bun or cut it short. And he looked at me, and said 'Wear your hair in a bun, don't cut it. I like how it falls on your shoulders like that...' I had to restrain myself from jumping up and down. I told myself to breath in and out. But All that came out was an excited smile. And I started touching my hair self-consciously.
Finally it was time to leave. I had to work the next day and he had golf classes. As usual, he walked me back to my car. In my tipsiness, I forgot where I parked it. So we were practically going around in circles, looking for my car. My criminal, plotting mind made me hold on to his hands as walked the parking lot. I had to get some cheap thrill before I left so if it had to boil down to hand-holding than it had to boil down to hand holding. I can't kiss him in the parking lot in full view of others can I? Anyway, he held my hands tight because I was giggling a bit too much. I tell you, if only my friends were there to watch the entire thing, they'd die of laughter lah!
I was never more unhappy to see my car. He found it all too soon. But he took my car keys from me, opened the door and asked repeatedly if I was okay to drive home. I said, 'Yes' and giggled. He cast a worried look at me and started my car for me. 'Call me if you loose your way or once you get home (I have accidently taken wrong turnings home before). Call me if anything okay?' and kiss my right cheek. I smiled like a lovesick teenager and waved my hands gingerly. He smiled and watched me reverse. Once he was sure I could get out of the parking space safely, he walked back into the shopping mall to go to his car.
He called when I was on the way to check if I was okay. How sweet. See? Now you guys know why I like him right? He's nice. He listens when I talk and he doesnt take advantage of me. And, he sents me back to my car. Sayang Mr. No-Commitment!
I am often like Miss-Make-A-Fool-Out-Of-Myself. Some of my friends have had laughing fits at my expense. Remember Mr.Boobies? Yeah. So recently as everyone already know, I started my new job in a totally whole new environment. Where I used to work, whatever I did on a daily basis does not really allow me to interact with my boss but, It's totally different here. As secretary, I'm supposed to know everything at the back of my hands and ready to jump to do anything asked by my boss, the General Manager. So in the first week that I started, my boss wanted to know which phone number belongs to which phone in the office and he wanted me to have one phone to myself. There were three all together. So he asked me to dial my own mobile number and see which number appears from which phone on the screen of my mobile. In my state of blur-ness, I kept on dialing and dialing a different number, because I was nervous. Sweat started trickling down my back. Then when I finally resigned to the fact that I couldn't get through my number I panicked and asked my boss my number. How silly! Why would he know my number at the back of his head? Needless to say, he looked at me blankly , not to mention oddly, and said, 'huh?' before going back to his work. I felt really silly at that point. Only then my number came flooding back to me. I was perplexed and felt sheepish at the same time. I could only guess what my boss was thinking at that point of time. What kind of silly girl is this to forget her own mobile number? And will she be able to do what I expect of her? God!! I irritate myself! I could just imagine that if my friends from Astro were there, they'd probably have a field day! Well, I'm glad to be of help, even if it means making a clown out of myself. Here's to my friends from Astro, Cheers!
Recently, Mr.Want-To-Get-Married asked me out on a date. I have only gone out on one date with this guy and we hardly know each other, except for the daily exhange of emails and text messages. Then one day he pops THE question. Through e-mail. He asked me to marry him. Okay. Anyone who knows me really well would know within a second that I wasn't even flattered or moved by it. And it isn't even because I don't want to get hitched again so fast either. This guy is a a bigtime flirt. If I was 20 and he said that to me, yeah, I'd probably fall for him and end up in undisclosed places with him. Unfortunately for him, and fortunately for me, I am close to thirty two and have had more than my share of experiences with lazy words and loose tongues of men who seem to think that these are magic words a.k.a 'Open Sesame!' Well, suffice to say, this 'sesame' ain't gonna open up at the seemingly insincere but otherwise flattering words.
Apparently this guy goes after anything running around in skirts. I'd guess that even a cow dressed up in skirt and pantyhose would appeal to him. When Mr.Want-To-Get-Married popped the question I actually wounded his pride by laughing out loud. I asked him, WHY? Why does he want to marry me and what on earth makes him think that I want to be married?
Answer: He said because I'm a nice person, which made me laugh even further. Excuse the pun, but I don't normally laugh at people but this was totally hilarious. I know I wasn't even remotely nice to him. After he showed up on our date in slippers, I decided that I don't have to sell myself short and settle for this kind of thing. I mean, If I can dress up well to meet someone, why can't someone do the same? vice versa? Is is because they think I'm a divorcee so they don't have to try so hard. Divorcees will fall for any guy right? Wrong. Okay, let's not get too intense. I'll just give all guys the benefit of the doubt.Which means, they treat all women the same, divorced or not. Then he said I'm pretty. So I said, 'Yeah, I know'. Haha. I can be a jerk at times you know. Yeah, another bad trait. But before you judge me let me explain why I become a jerk. Sometimes when I go out with a guy and after that date I realize that I'm just not that into him (maybe because he came on too strong), I do things like that. If they compliment me, I say 'Yeah I know' in hopes that they think I'm a perasan case and stop calling and texting me. This has worked for me in some cases but in this case, it hasn't. And I don't know how to stop it. This guy just keeps trying his luck.
I rely on my instincts a lot these days. And my instincts tell me Mr.Want-To-Get-Married just wants to get into my pants. So I'll be a jerk for as long as I want to. Want to get married! Arghh!! I have two kids for heaven's sakes! Do the guy even realize what kind of responsibility he has to uphold if he wants to marry me? I don't think so. So meanwhile, I have to sabotage myself by pretending to be someone I'm not just so as not to fan his crazy marriage ideas
Malaysians are supposed to be warm, friendly people right? Yeah right!. Forgive me for being a pessimist here a bit but I seriously think these days people are getting to be tad more discourteous than before. Maybe it's the ailing economy. Yeah, let's blame it on the economy. People are moody and get defensive when they think they are being attacked (whatever). It all started out one fine Monday morning...I guess Monday morning blues really get to people. I mean, there I was driving to work, in my own lane, listening to my daily dose of the mix Fm breakfast show, when an ass just cuts in front of my car without signaling. Seriously, signals, side mirrors or rear-view mirrors are there for a reason, not for show. And It wasn't any Kelisa or Kancil, mind you, this was a big ten-seater passenger van. I got a shock and almost swerved into another vehicle in the right lane, in a suit to protect myself and my car. But the second vehicle, who had no idea what had happened seconds before, honked at me and showed me the middle finger. I was shocked and dazed. And what's with the middle finger thing?
A couple of months ago, I was on the way to work along the busy Bukit Jalil stretch, a Kelisa was trying to get in between the cars in a jam packed, two-car lane. The dude seriously thought he could squeeze his way through. Who did he think he was? Bloody f*****g Knight Rider? Seriously. What happened next was inevitable. I could see it coming and frustratingly, I couldn't stop it. The right lane my car was in wasn't even moving and the guy was in the left lane, squeezing his way through. He came straight for my car and knocked my left passenger side mirror. I could only watch in horror as my side mirror came out of its sockets and dangled out. My instant reaction was giving him a loud honk, because that was the only thing I could do. And The guy just turns at me and gave me the middle finger. What an ass! And because of him, I have my rear-view mirror in bandages and everytime I am stuck in traffic, people look at my bandaged side mirror and shake their heads and try their best to take a peek at yours truly. They are probably thinking what a terrible driver I am!.
In another incident, I was driving and looking for a parking space in Bangsar when I entered the lane next to McDonald's. It was after work rush hour and practically everyone was rushing to get a spot to park. So there I was waiting for my turn to turn right back into the main road. There's is an unspoken rule when you drive in a jam that you take turns to get into that road. One car from that lane, one car from this lane. So the other car from the next lane just passed through and next should be my turn. But suddenly, another car from the next lane rushes into the lane that I was going to turn into, honked at me and, yeah, you guessed it, gave me the middle finger! It was a good-looking guy by the way. But a creep all the same.
Really, I think Malaysians are becoming so intense, especially where driving is concerned. People jump cues at traffic lights. People cut into a lane without signaling. They race their silly-reconstructed cars on the highways and endanger the lives of others. Really, and we all wonder why accidents happen. And what is it with the middle-finger-happy spree? As a person who happens to be the object of this abominable gesture, and traumatized by it nevertheless, I would like to say to those people who finds solace in this uncivilized gesture to grow up and get a life!! But maybe I should not take it so personally since they feel better after the deed. Well, do whatever that makes you sleep at night creep!